My Experience as an Intern for Helping Hand for Relief and Development

Experience as an Intern for Helping Hand

            All praises to Allah swt, who bless us every day and sustain our needs. As an intern with Helping Hand for Relief and Development (HHRD) this summer 2014, I have learned a lot about non-profit organizations, about myself, and about communities. In my opinion, it is very important to be part of non-profit organization at least once in our life time as well as explore communities we live in. As an intern with Helping Hand, I have got the chance to live the legacy of Prophet Mohammad S.A.W.

HHRD

        Helping Hand for Relief and Development (HHRD) has various programs they work toward such as Orphan Sponsor, Water for Life and much more. As an intern, I really wanted to work toward helping orphans so Orphan Sponsor Program (OSP) was perfect fit for me. Part of my internship, I had to organize an event to raise funds and awareness toward the program. It was quiet a great experience, Alhomdulliah. I ended up working with another intern for the event which took place on July 19th and it was a charity auction and fundraiser dinner. The event was called “A Call for Guardians.”

This the flyer the intern and I had to work on for our event. We used it to market our event.

This the flyer the intern and I had to work on for our event. We used it to market our event.

           Being an intern for HHRD has helped me get closer to my deen. There are more than one region in the country, such as in CA, TX, NJ, and much more. Therefore, we would have a national weekly conference as well as a regional meeting. During each conference and meeting, we would have at least five minute “Tazkiyaah” lectures which were targeted to share short hadith, stories that help us remember Allah swt, our purpose of this life, and why we are doing good work. Each short-lecture would tie back to Sunnah of Prophet Mohammad S.A.W and to please Allah swt. I truly loved this part.

         Also, from my internship, I met president of ICNA Naeem Baig, and I was able to network with other professionals. ICNA is the mother of Helping Hand, so ICNA helps out Helping Hand in time of needs and so does Helping Hand. I liked this aspect.  This is only one example that I was able to benefit from being an intern with HHRD. This life is not only about improving our resume or our networking; this life is to improve our relationship with Allah swt through the means we attain in this world. All the work that I worked for Helping Hand has truly helped me connect to Allah swt even more. This in my opinion is the most valuable gift of all time.

Receiving my certificate from ICNA's President

            Last but not least, I have been treated from all officers and interns from Helping Hand with full respect. This is very important in the work-life. Alhomdulliah, everyone was friendly and would take their time to listen to me and assist me with my questions and concerns.

          At my event, I had two girls come up to me saying “This is amazing! We want to be involved with HHRD.” I told them about volunteering opportunities which can be found on website: www.hhrd.org, as well as the Youth Involvement Program, which are the internship opportunities. I would like to emphasize that HHRD offers internship in Spring for their Haiti Program, and they have internship applications for Summer which what I did.

I was speaking about the program in details to audience. It was my duty to make the powerpoint and explain the program.

I was speaking about the program in details to audience. It was my duty to make the powerpoint and explain the program.

        Furthermore, I am a strong believer that my generation is the future generation of Islam, and so it is my duty to represent Islam and work for it in the best manner. And Helping Hand has set the foundations for me to be this person and has uplifted my spirits into getting back on track with my life, my deen, and my relationship with society.

I would like to conclude with few reminders and statements. There is famous quote that Helping Hand is using on the back t-shirt they are selling for Gaza for their Palestine Relief Program: “Be the Change that You Wish to see in the World.” I highly encourage the youth to reconsider their youth time and get involved with at least one nonprofit organization to gain on-hands experience. Volunteering one’s time for a cause is never a waste.

This is the back t-shirt from HHRD for their Palestine Relief Program  "Be the Change that You Wish to see in World"

This is the back t-shirt from HHRD for their Palestine Relief Program
“Be the Change that You Wish to see in World”

 

Leave a comment